The palace and patriarchal complex occupy a dominant position in the fortress. In the Palace of the Bulgarian kings live the medieval rulers and their relatives, who draw and carry out the overall policy of the state. It is the most impressive and monumental ensemble in the capital, covering an area of 2872 sq.m. During the XII – XIV centuries it underwent several reconstructions. It is protected on all sides by a strong fortress wall and towers. Inside, there are buildings with ornate facades. The throne palace and the ruler’s private quarters were of magnificent interior. The palace housed the offices of the royal administration, as well as a number of buildings with food, hygiene and business purposes. The relics of the most revered saint of Bulgaria – St. Petka Turnovska were laid in a palace church. Some of the Bulgarian rulers ruled in this temple during the fourteenth century.
The rest of the fort is tightly built. During the archaeological excavations, the foundations of 470 residential buildings, an architectural complex inhabited by a high-ranking Bulgarian aristocrat, the innkeeper, were discovered. During the capital period, 23 temples and 4 city monasteries functioned in the fortress. Their facades were painted in a typical epoch-style style, and their interiors were covered with magnificent murals. Unique pieces of gold-woven clothing and gold jewelry from the Second Bulgarian State have been discovered. Among the rulers who ruled the Tsarevets state were the kings Assen I, Peter IV, Kaloyan, Ivan Assen II, Ivan Alexander, Ivan Shishman.
The fortress had three entrances, which are still visible today. The main entrance, which was defended by towers, is located to the west. The second input is the so-called. A small gate (Asenova) and is located on the northwestern wall. The third entrance, the Frankhisar Gate, is at the southeastern end of the fort.
In 1185, after Turnovo was proclaimed the capital of the Second Bulgarian Kingdom, Tsarevets became its main fortification and home to the aristocracy. For over 200 years the city has been boiling political, economic and cultural life, making it one of the largest cities in the European southeast, and the fortress the most important in Bulgaria. At the northernmost end of Tsarevets is a rocky promontory, which is known as the Lobna Skala River, which faces the Yantra River. In the 11th – 14th centuries, traitors of the state were thrown from it into the river, and in the 16th century a monastery was built on the site.
The restoration of Tsarevets Fortress began in 1930 and was completed in 1981 on the occasion of the 1300th anniversary of the foundation of the Bulgarian state.
Today, the road to the main entrance with the grand portal, the impressive walls and battle towers, including the Baldwin’s, are perfectly restored.
The Tsarevets Architectural Museum Reserve is a unique place to meet Bulgaria’s past. Access to all sites is facilitated by an infrastructure that is authentic to the re-created era. The signboards give additional information about the purpose and history of the sites. Visitors can climb to the top of the tower tower, which offers views of the city.
A unique attraction is the audio-visual performance “Sound and Light”, which, through hundreds of colored lights, music, bells and lasers, presents moments